Comments Off

National Phlebotomy Association

The National Phlebotomy Association (NPA) was founded in 1978 as an industry for the healthcare community and has been the sole organization to educate and certify the nation’s phlebotomist. The NPA was established to bringing about professional standards and codes of ethics for this particular group of health care providers. The National Phlebotomy Association is committed to developing educational programs and providing accreditation, researching issues involving phlebotomy and offering continuing education programs and promoting public and professional awareness.

The field of phlebotomy has expanded in the past several years. The threat of hepatitis and AIDS, as well as other infectious diseases threatening the health of the public, has brought into focus the importance of phlebotomy and the need for training programs. The National Phlebotomy Association has been vigilant in working to maintain the highest standards of instruction and continuing education programs for health care professionals and to better protect the general public.

The National Phlebotomy Association has certified over 15,000 phlebotomists and accredited over 75 phlebotomy programs in healthcare training facilities, hospitals and universities and colleges. To qualify for certification from the National Phlebotomy Association, the candidate will need to have one year of experience as a phlebotomist or complete a phlebotomy training program that teaches veinpuncture. The training program should be at least 200 hours with 160 hours of classroom instruction and 40 hours of practical training.

National Healthcareer Association Phlebotomy Exam

When applying to take the certification exam, the candidate will be required to submit a transcript of your courses along with the application fee. Health care providers can take the phlebotomy certification exam even if the candidate performs phlebotomy as part of their job. The candidate must submit a letter from a superior explaining at least one year of practical experience. The certification exam is conducted in two parts. The first part is a two hours written exam and one hour of practical demonstration.

The National Phlebotomy Association also offers an online preparation course that can be taken prior to the exam. Test scores will be available within 8 to 10 weeks beginning the month following the exam. The candidate must score at least 70% to pass the exam. Test scores will be mailed to each candidate.

In the event the candidate fails the exam, an application to retake the test may be submitted within 2 to 3 months following the first exam. The candidate must submit a full and completed application along with the fee to apply to retake the exam. Each candidate is allowed to take the certification exam up to three times to pass the exam. After the third failure, the candidate is no longer eligible to take the exam.

When the candidate passes the exam, they will be a certified phlebotomist. The certification is valid for 12 months and must be renewed each year. Beginning in 2010, the National Phlebotomy Association requires each certified phlebotomist to complete 1.8 hours of continuing education units, as part of the certification renewal process as well as pay a renewal fee.

Filed in: Phlebotomist, Phlebotomy Education and Training

Get Updates

Recent Posts

© 2017 TrainFargo. All rights reserved.