Comments Off

Radiologist Requirements

Radiology is a medical specialty that deals with the study and application of imaging technology. Imaging technology includes x-rays and radiation for the purpose of diagnosing disease in the human body. The radiologist is responsible for applying the radiology imaging technology. The radiologist usually has a medical degree.

The radiologist responsibilities are to administer the radiopaque solutions by oral administration, injection or by enemas in order to find visibility within the internal organs that are to be examined by fluoroscopic screens or x-rays. The radiologist will sometimes examine the internal organs to check the progress or remission of the patient’s disease. Radiologists will also recommend other test the patient may need to help with identifying a disease.

Radiologist Education Requirements

The radiologist requirements to practice radiology are to complete a four year Bachelor of Science program. The undergraduate will then be required to attend and complete medical school and the seven year residency program. The radiologist requirements for education and training will take approximately 12 years to complete. After the residency program, the radiologist requirements will include an additional year to specialize in radiology.

Other qualifications necessary to pursue a career in radiology is a background in human anatomy, medicine and scientific principles, which is a commonality for all medical Doctor’s matter there specialty. The radiologist must possess a level of technical savvy as a great deal of the work involved with radiology will be on the computer working with the images and electronic data.

The radiologist is among the highest paid in the medical profession, as they are in high demand. An aspiring radiologist can expect to make, according to a 2011 salary study, an entry level salary of about $50k a year to as much as $310k per year. The actual salary depends on several factors, such as the degree program completed along with the radiologist training.

The radiologist may wish to specialize in the one of the following radiology fields that includes radiation oncology, nuclear, interventional, pediatric, neuroradiology, musculoskeletal, head and neck, genitourinary, gastrointestinal, emergency, chest, cardiovascular radiology, and breast imaging. (What? Breast does not get a radiology?)

The resident in radiology must successfully pass a board examination during the training period of their career.

Radiologist Exam Is Divided Into Two

The board exam is divided into two sections, one written and the other oral. The board exams are administered by the ABR (American Board of Radiology). Beginning 2010, the test will include two computer related exams. The first of the two exams will be taken after the third year of residency and the second will be taken at least eighteen months after the first oral exam.

To pass the oral exam for the ABR certificate, the resident must pass all eleven sections. An applicant who passes less than 8 of the sections will fail the exam. An applicant, who passes eight or more of the sections, can take the sections not passed again. The written exam can be taken at any time after the third year of residency and the passing grade is 90%.

Filed in: Ultrasound Technician, Ultrasound Technician Career

Get Updates

Recent Posts

© 2017 TrainFargo. All rights reserved.